Intrepid Madagascar reviews

Catapulted into the mainstream after the release of a hugely popular movie of the same name, Madagascar is fast becoming one of Africa’s top travel destinations. And for good reason: this gem of an island is home to an incredibly diverse ecosystem made up of pristine beaches, waterfalls, grassy plains, imposing volcanoes and impressive landscapes.

The island's biodiversity is broad and unique, offering wildlife experiences to rival safaris on the mainland. Laced with historic towns that reflect European, African or Eastern culture, Madagascar is a melting pot of life waiting to be discovered.

Discover what past travellers have to say about our Madagascar trips.

Top reviews on Madagascar trips

4.6 out of 5 based on 80 reviews submitted.
Reviews are from travellers who have completed their trip and want to share their experience. We show all reviews, but may remove any that include profanity or inappropriate content, are unrelated to the trip or reveal personal details.

Filter by rating

Madagascar Adventure

Wendy · Traveled June 2024
If you’re looking for a very different experience that includes interactions with lemurs, chameleons and local people that is totally different to other things you have experienced then this is the trip for you.
Review submitted 08 Jul 2024

Madagascar Baobabs & Beyond

Jessica · Traveled June 2024
What an eye-opening experience this was! I learnt so much about Madagascar and had the best group who made the experience so wonderful. Our leader worked so hard to ensure we didn’t miss out on anything but you are certainly at the mercy of many uncontrollable factors (eg. Ferry crossings, long drives, group members taking their time, etc). As mentioned in the notes, be prepared for a lot of driving! That’s the killer but the rest of the trip was fantastic. If you want to see Madagascar, a group tour is the way to go and this one was wonderful. Highlights - the Tsingy climb, camping on the sand banks and the avenue of baobabs! Shout out to Barnabas as well, he was an awesome leader!
Review submitted 05 Jul 2024

Madagascar Adventure

Lisa · Traveled June 2024
Mamy was an excellent guide. His knowledge was exceptional. The local guides were very good. We got to support local communities throughout our trip. He knew who was who, so we got an exceptional trip.
Review submitted 09 Jul 2024

Madagascar Adventure

Katherine · Traveled May 2024
This was a fabulous trip with the perfect blend of wildlife and crafty activities. A reasonable level of fitness is required to get the most out of the trip and I found a hiking pole was helpful with the uneven terrain (I left it with one of the guides at the end of the trip). Patrick was an amazing leader who shared his extensive knowledge of his country. Very unspoilt with few tourists - go and see it soon!
Review submitted 22 May 2024

Madagascar Adventure

Enric · Traveled November 2023
Intrepid's Madagascar Adventure delivered a thrilling experience. We explored stunning landscapes, diverse wildlife, and learned about Malagasy culture from our knowledgeable guide, Patrick. Despite challenging roads, our driver navigated expertly. This first-time adventure exceeded expectations, thanks to Intrepid's planning and small group size. I highly recommend it!
Review submitted 07 Dec 2023

Get inspired on The Good Times