Top 12 Peru holiday reviews

A pilgrimage to Machu Picchu may already be on the top of your list of things to do on a holiday in Peru, but did you know that this ancient country has a vast array of other historical relics and cultural highlights to visit? There are archaeological wonders dotted throughout the country, and traversing the ancient Inca landscape to explore these incredible sites is a bucket-list item for many travellers. But there’s more to a holiday in Peru than history: make sure you visit the urban backdrop of downtown Lima, taste the tried and tested traveller favourite – ceviche, or trek deep into the Andes to explore hidden Peruvian peaks.

Find a Peru holiday

Top reviews on Peru Holidays

Thinking about a trip in Peru? Not sure if you’re ready for a trek along the Inca Trail yet? Read through our top reviews on Peru holidays with Intrepid Travel below. Our travellers give honest feedback about their experience, and we hope that their reviews help you to decide which trip is best for you.

Our Peru trips score an average of 4.7 out of 5 based on 1341 reviews in the last year.

Majestic Peru , September 2016

Andrew Griffiths

Inca Trail Express , September 2016

Colin Kennedy

Inca Trail Express , September 2016

Claire Emery

Inca Trail Extension , September 2016

LUCAS VILLARREAL DEBUS

Sacred Land of the Incas , September 2016

ANNE PANELLA

Sacred Land of the Incas , September 2016

Eileen Clifford

Inca Trail Express , August 2016

Kirsty Bruce

Sacred Land of the Incas , September 2016

Chris Muir

Sacred Land of the Incas , September 2016

David Clifford

2016 Essential Peru , August 2016

Rose Colhoun

Sacred Land of the Incas , August 2016

Michelle Jory

Inca Trail Express , August 2016

Amanda Main

Blogs on Peru

Going solo: the joys of travelling by yourself

Posted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016

I realised something on my Intrepid trip. I am most comfortable when I am uncomfortable. When I'm off balance. Unsure. When I'm vulnerable. Basically, when I'm traveling.

Read more

Flavours of Nikkei: lifting the lid on Peru’s latest fusion craze

Posted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016

When I think of Peruvian cuisine, I think traditional. Juicy lomo saltado spiked with aji amarillo chillies. Tangy ceviche and a hit of chopped cilantro. But sushi? Not so much.

Read more

Mothers of Intrepid: 3 amazing women you’ll meet on a homestay

Posted on Wed, 4 May 2016

Whether it’s a Mongolian Nana or a Peruvian Mama, homestay cooking, hospitality (and life wisdom) are simply the best.

Read more